So I got massively sidetracked. It still feels like summer, but it’s Labor Day weekend, which means it’s time to admit it’s over. My original summer project list:

  • at least one essay as Emah
  • finish a fic I deleted
  • finish rewriting the werewolf thing
  • finish the Regency polyamory

What I ended up doing:

  • rough draft of my Statement of Purpose
  • write 60,000 words of fiction over 10 different works, none of which are on the above list
  • working a lot
  • getting my hair dyed pink

The last two had nothing to do with writing, but were significant time sinks. Only one of the projects I was working on was original: the rest were transformative works. I mean, that is a fair chunk of writing and I’m happy to have done it. I’m also really glad I deleted the one work I was planning on finishing, because it had become less than fun and I didn’t give in to the sunk cost fallacy.

My goals for this fall have more to do with grad school and getting options narrowed and essays written, but I think I’m also going to try to get some original fiction in there, when I’m not organizing gift exchanges of fanworks.

Leave a Reply

